Virginia Medical Marijuana Card Qualifying Conditions
In order to qualify for a Virginia medical marijuana card, a medical marijuana doctor must diagnose you with at least one of the state’s designated qualifying conditions. Those conditions are:
Certified Virginia doctors can recommend medical marijuana for any patient as long as they believe medical cannabis could improve that patient’s quality of life. Patients don’t necessarily have to suffer from one of the aforementioned conditions, but most who qualify do.
Virginia Medical Marijuanas Card Requirements
The requirements for obtaining a medical marijuana card in Virginia are as follows:
- You must be a resident of Virginia and have a valid Virginia ID or driver’s license.
- You must be at least 18 years old.
- You must have a written certification from a licensed physician in Virginia stating that you suffer from a debilitating medical condition and that the use of medical marijuana is likely to alleviate your symptoms.
- You must register with the Virginia Board of Pharmacy to join Virginia’s medical marijuana program.
Benefits of Medical Marijuana
Medical marijuana has been shown to provide a wide variety of benefits, including:
- Pain relief
- Nausea relief
- Appetite stimulation
- Inflammation reduction
- Anxiety alleviation
- Improved sleep quality
If you think you may benefit from medical marijuana, talk to a registered practitioner. They will be able to determine if you qualify for a medical marijuana card in Virginia.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Virginia
If you are a resident of Virginia and would like to apply for a medical marijuana card, follow these steps:
- Go to the Virginia Department of Health website and download the application form.
- Complete the application form and return it to the Virginia Department of Health.
- Provide proof of Virginia residency and a valid identification card.
- Once your application is received, the Virginia Department of Health will review it. If you are approved for VA’s medical cannabis program, they will issue you a medical cannabis card.
- You will then be able to purchase medical marijuana from licensed dispensaries in Virginia.
Virginia Medical Marijuana Card Cost
The registration fee for Virginia medical marijuana cards is $50 for registered patients. That does not include the cost of your consultation with a medical marijuana doctor.
Virginia Medical Marijuana Laws
In the state of Virginia, medical marijuana treatment is exclusive to those with a diagnosed condition and an official MMJ card. Medical marijuana cards allow patients to purchase and possess up to a 90-day supply of medical marijuana products from state-licensed dispensaries. That supply can include CBD and THC products such as creams, gels, edibles, tinctures, and cannabis oil.
Patients with cards can only consume medical cannabis products within private residences–never public spaces. The use of cannabis is illegal at your place of work unless your employer specifically permits it. In most cases, you won’t have legal protection in the workplace.
Patients and caregivers can grow up to four cannabis plants of their own as long as the plants remain inside public residences and cannot be seen from the street.
How to Find Virginia Medical Marijuana Dispensaries
Virginia Medical Marijuana FAQs
Marijuana is still illegal under federal law, which means it’s illegal to transport medical marijuana across state lines.
Yes–there are some states that allow patients with Virginia medical marijuana cards to purchase medical marijuana products from their dispensaries. Currently, Washington D.C. is the only territory that allows Virginians to do so without any exceptions. The following states also offer reciprocity, though there are some exceptions:
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- Rhode Island
Since there are exceptions to those states’ reciprocity laws, make sure you do your research before trying to purchase medical marijuana in those states with your Virginia MMJ card.
No–you cannot use a card from another state to purchase medical marijuana in Virginia. The state of Virginia does not currently have any reciprocity agreements with other states.
Some insurance companies may cover the cost of a Virginia medical marijuana card, but it is not required by law. Patients should check with their insurance providers to see if they offer coverage for medical marijuana cards before applying for one. If your provider won’t cover the cost of your card, you’ll have to pay out-of-pocket for it.
Employers are not required to accommodate the use of medical marijuana in the workplace. Furthermore, they are allowed to drug-test employees and take disciplinary action if an employee tests positive for marijuana. So yes–you can get fired for consuming medical marijuana products at work, even if you obtained them legally.
Caregivers purchase and possess medical marijuana products for medical marijuana patients who cannot do so on their own. Caregivers are often qualifying patients’ legal guardians.
If you’re interested in becoming a caregiver for a Virginia medical marijuana patient, there are a few things you need to know. First of all, caregivers must be at least 18 years old and must have not been convicted of a felony within the past five years. They must also be registered with the Virginia Department of Health.
To register as a caregiver, you must fill out an application and submit it to the Department of Health. Once your application is approved, you will be issued a registration card. This card will allow you to purchase medical marijuana products from dispensaries on behalf of your patient.